Global Tobacco Networking Forum 2010

This page was last edited on at

The Global Tobacco and Nicotine Forum (GTNF), formerly known as the Global Tobacco Networking Forum, is an international gathering of industry executives and supporters. It bills itself as “quite simply the greatest interactive tobacco industry idea exchange on earth”1
The 2010 event was held in Bangalore, and the line up included:

  • Kevin Altman, technical consultant to the Council of Independent Tobacco Manufacturers of America (CITMA)
  • Dr. Patrick Basham, founding director, Democracy Institute
  • Dr.Karen Blakeley, senior lecturer at the University of Winchester Business School
  • Menno Brakele, Sales manager, Madern International
  • Erik Bloomquist, covers Global Tobacco for Berenberg Bank, based in London
  • Jeannie Cameron, International advocacy and engagement manager for British American Tobacco
  • Simon Clark, director of Forest and founder of the Free Society
  • Dr. Barrie Craven, Former adviser to the World Health Organization
  • Chris Crawley, Managing member, Axiom Select LLC
  • Douglas DaCosta, Security consultant—formerly US Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives
  • Dr. Biswajit Deb, Vice president research and development, Godfrey Phillips India
  • Deepak Dewan, General Manager of General Tobacco Asia Pacific
  • Carlo Einarsson, Marketing communications director for Holmen AB’s cartonboard subsidiary Iggesund Paperboard
  • Jason Falls, Social media thinker and strategist, owner of Social Media Explorer
  • RP Gaikaiwari, Leading researcher and commentator in the Indian chewing tobacco industry
  • Katherine Graham, Campaign manager of the Tobacco Retailers Alliance in the UK
  • Dr. Karyn K. Heavner is an epidemiologist specialising in behavioural research,
  • Mick Hume, Editor-at-large of the UK-based daily comment website Spiked
  • Cathie Keogh, Head of Corporate Affairs & Legal for Imperial Tobacco Australia Limited
  • Jim Kirke, Group leaf sustainability manager, British American Tobacco
  • Udayan Lall, Executive director, Tobacco Institute of India
  • Dr. Iqbal Lambat, CEO Star Tobacco International
  • Sam Levy, Sam Levy is vice president of sales and marketing for Evans Mactavish
  • Mark Littlewood, Director general of the Institute of Economic Affairs in London
  • Dr. John Luik, tobacco industry consultant
  • René Luyten. Director, b-Cat BV, Controlled Atmosphere Technology (CAT) Tiel, The Netherlands
  • Pradip Mittra, Executive vice president operations for Godfrey Phillips India Ltd.
  • K.K. Modi Krishan Kumar Modi is the chairman of Modi Enterprises
  • Christopher Ogden, Chief executive of the Tobacco Manufacturers’ Association (TMA) in the UK
  • David O’Reilly, Head of public health and scientific affairs, British American Tobacco
  • Adrian Osborn, Director of sales and operations, Associated Tobacco Company, for Asia and Southeast Asia
  • Mohan Padmanabhan, Senior editorial consultant for the Internet edition of Business Line in Chennai
  • Dr. Carl Phillips, Independent researcher and consultant focusing on tobacco harm reduction
  • Ram Poddar Chief mentor of the K.K. Modi Group of Companies and chairman of the Tobacco Institute of India
  • Tommy Rowland, Senior vice president of Universal leaf
  • Christopher Russell, Researcher in addiction theory, treatment and experiential avoidance-based psychotherapies at the University of Strathclyde
  • Uwe Schey, Chief operating officer of Xavo AG
  • P. T. Sreekumar, Managing director (Filter Products)
  • Dr. Jan Snel, Psychophysiologist, Department of Psychology, University of Amsterdam
  • Chris Snowdon, Independent author and historian whose works include Velvet Glove, Iron Fist: A History of Anti-Smoking (more)
  • Jeff Stier, Associate director of the American Council on Science and Health (ACSH)
  • Bharat Thakkar, Founding member of All Indian Pan Masala & Tobacco Manufacturers Association and owner/editor of the magazine Tobacco Today
  • Ron Tulley, Vice president, new projects and initiatives, National Tobacco USA.
  • Harrie van de Ven, Founder, director and co-owner of Ensa Machine Bouw b.v. which specialises in cigar machinery.
  • Martijn van de Ven, Co-owner of Ensa Machine Bouw b.v.
  • Alexander Vassiliev, Chairman of the board of directors of the EDAPS Consortium.
  • Nicolaas Vroom, Senior sales manager and research and development manager at EcO2 B.V. and a consultant at JNF Consulting Services B.V.
  • Sebastian Zimmel, Industry consultant, marketing adviser and journalist. 2

Other TobaccoTactics resources

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


  1. T. Tuinstra. Happy networkingTobacco Reporter magazine, October 2008, accessed November 2011.
  2. GTNF Global Tobacco Networking Forum, Conference Website 2010, only available via, accessed December 2013