Global Tobacco and Nicotine Forum 2016

This page was last edited on at

The Global Tobacco and Nicotine Forum (GTNF) is an annual tobacco industry conference.
The GTNF 2016 was held in September in Brussels, Belgium.1
Speakers included:

  • George Adams – Professor of Medicine at University of North Carolina
  • Renato Addis – Partner at public affairs consultancy EPPA
  • Vivien Azer – Tobacco industry analyst, Cowen and Co
  • Scott Ballin – Former vice president of the American Heart Association. Adviser to the University of Virginia
  • Germana Barba – Director of corporate affairs reduced risk products, Philip Morris International
  • Patrick Basham – Director of the Democracy Institute
  • Clive Bates – Founder of consulting and advocacy practice Counterfactual
  • Ian Benson – Global marketing director, NDC Technologies, and expert in the implementation of on-line near-infrared measurements
  • Erik Bloomquist – Senior analyst global consumer staples, Haitong Securities
  • Vaclav Borkovec – Prototyping engineer at Fontem Ventures (owned by Imperial Tobacco)
  • Bruce Clark – Vice President regulatory and scientific affairs at Philip Morris International
  • Simon Clark – Director of the tobacco industry funded group Forest. Clark ran several pro-tobacco campaigns including Hands Off Our Packs (2012) and No Thank EU (2013), and established the tobacco industry front group Action on Consumer Choice.
  • Seth Coblentz – General counsel at VMR Products, a manufacturer of vapour products
  • Miguel Coleta – Sustainability officer at Philip Morris International
  • Martin Cullip who blogs under the alias ‘Dick Puddlecote’ – ‘Consumer associate’ of New Nicotine Alliance, and spokesperson of The Freedom Association‘s ‘freedom to vape’ campaign
  • Geoff Curtin – Senior director regulatory affairs at Reynolds American (RAI) Services Company
  • Brittani Cushman – Vice President external affairs at Turning Point Brands, which manufactures smokeless tobacco and smoking tobacco in the US
  • James Cutforth – Global sector manager for tobacco at Domino Printing Services
  • Rui Faria da Cunha – Director general of the Society of European Affairs Professionals
  • Sinclair Davidson – Professor of institutional economic at the Melbourne’s RMIT University
  • Abrie du Plessis – Trade law consultant who previously was employed by the Rembrandt Group, and has a special interest in the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control
  • Karl O Fagerstrom – Clinical psychologist and an expert in nicotine dependence and smoking cessation
  • Jonathan Fell – Tobacco industry analyst and founding partner of Ash Park
  • Michael Fisher – Associate principal scientist at Altria Client Services
  • Dahlia Garwe – General manager of the Tobacco Research Board (Kutsaga) in Zimbabwe
  • Andy Gaunt – Chief Commercial Officer at e-cigarette company Nerudia
  • Giovanni Giordano – Director for Human Resources at British American Tobacco
  • Simon Green – Managing director, Alliance One International
  • Richard Grimer – head of product insight and innovation planning, British American Tobacco
  • Carolyn Hanigan – President of RAI Innovations (RAI’s research arm)
  • Angela Harbutt – Founder of the Liberal Vision blog, who worked with Forest on the Hands Off Our Packs (2012) and No Thank EU (2013) campaigns
  • Jack Hennigfield – Vice president research, health policy and abuse liability at Pinney Associates
  • Ian Jones – Vice president of emerging products corporate, scientific and regulatory affairs at Japan Tobacco International
  • Mark Kehaya – Chairman of the board at Alliance International One
  • Patricia Kovacevic – General counsel and chief compliance officer for e-liquid and e-cigarette manufacturer Nicopure Labcs
  • David Levy – Professor of oncology at Georgetown University
  • Mike Ligon – Vice President corporate affairs for Universal Corporation (parent company of Universal Leaf Tobacco Company)
  • Mark Littlewood – Director general of libertarian think tank Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA)
  • Wieijuan Liu – Vice President and principal engineer of Yunnan Reascend Tobacco Technology (Group) Company
  • Rolf Lutz – Director of product policy at Philip Morris International
  • Barbara Martellini – Assistant vice president for corporate affairs at Universal Leaf Tobacco (formerly with Imperial Tobacco)
  • Alan McGill – Partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers
  • Marc Michelsen – Senior vice president of corporate affairs and communications at Fontem Ventures
  • Christian Mulcahy – Business development director at multiCIG, a UK-based supplier of e-cigarettes and e-liquids
  • Marina Murphy – Head of scientific media relations at British American Tobacco
  • Ashok Narasimhan – vapour and e-liquid company AltimaLife
  • Kyle Newton – Founder of Vapeix, the company behind the 7’s e-cigarette
  • Ray Niaura – Director of science and training at the Schroeder Institute for Tobacco Research and Policy Studies
  • Mike Ogden – Vice president of scientific and regulatory affairs at RAI Services
  • Flora Okereke – Head of regulatory policy and engagement, British American Tobacco
  • David O’Reilly – Scientific director and R&D director of British American Tobacco
  • Carlos Palma – Global manager of sustainable agriculture at Souza Cruz (a British American Tobacco company), and representative of SindiTabaco, Brazil’s Union of Interstate Tobacco Industry
  • Roger Penn – Director of the tobacco business unit at flavour and fragrance manufacturer Mane
  • Ben Potter – Founder and director at Ecigwizard
  • Taman Powell – Lecturer in strategic management and innovation at Cardiff University, and founder of the XOLO e-cigarette
  • Christopher Proctor – Chief scientific officer at British American Tobacco
  • Nataliya Pronge – Director of global regulatory strategy at Japan Tobacco International
  • Howard Pugh – Senior specialist at Europol
  • Michiel Reerink – Global regulatory strategy Vice President at Japan Tobacco International
  • Christopher Russell – Behavioural psychologist and senior research fellow at the Glasgow-based Centre for Substance Use Research
  • Vince Sauvalere – Head of tobacco and counterfeit goods unit at the European Anti-Fraud Office (OLAF)
  • Tony Scanlan – CEO of UK division of US e-cigarette company Madvapes
  • Lea Scott – Vice president of agronomy services at Universal Leaf Tobacco Company
  • Jeroen Slobbe – Managing director of TDC of ITM group that specialises in tobacco machinery
  • Christopher Snowdon – Head of lifestyle economics at libertarian think tank the Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA)
  • Jim Solyst – Vice President of federal regulatory affairs for Swedish Match North America
  • Jeff Stier – Senior fellow at the National Center for Public Policy Research
  • David Sweanor – University of Ottawa;
  • Florian Teischinger – Data scientist at Japan Tobacco International
  • Marina Trani – Head of research and development for next generation products at British American Tobacco
  • Run Tully – Founder of TNV Ventures, a management consultancy in the nicotine and tobacco sector
  • Huub Vizee – Head regulatory affairs at the Delfortgroup (previously Imperial Tobacco)
  • Rupert Wilson – Owner and managing director of UK-based Strategic Business Consulting
  • Yushu Zhu – Independent chartered marketeer who has worked with pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies on custom strategy for drug development
  • Jackie Zhuang – Co founder of Chinese e-cigarette and media trade show

TobaccoTactics Resources

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


  1. Global Tobacco and Nicotine Forum, Look who’s talking, 2016, accessed November 2017